Kim’s Recipe for Gluten-Free Mozzarella Sticks

One of the few things that I really, really miss since starting the gluten-free diet is mozzarella sticks. There is just nothing like fried, gooey cheese to raise my spirits (or fix a hangover!).

I have tried to make gluten-free mozza sticks half a dozen times. The results have ranged from inedible to slightly scary. This week, I adjusted a recipe from Company’s Coming and had the biggest success so far.

I am re-printing the recipe as I made it. The only thing that I found was that although the cheese sticks were starting to melt (indicating being cooked), they really weren’t that hot through the middle. I will try freezing them first as the recipe suggests next time. If that doesn’t work, I think I will try deep-frying them (I know, I know) or cooking for a little longer at a lower temperature. If you have any suggestions for better results, please share!

As well, you can swap out the garlic and/or paprika for other spices if you prefer, or just omit them entirely.

Ingredients

  • One block good quality mozzarella cheese (From the deli rather than the milk section)
  • 1/2 cup gluten-free cornflake crumbs (Can be hard to find but they are out there! I used the Southern Homestyle brand)
  • 1 tbsp. gluten-free all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1 egg

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Spray baking sheet with gluten-free cooking spray.
  3. Cut cheese into strips of desired length and width. (I usually do five inches long, an inch thick.)
  4. Mix cornflake crumbs, flour, and spices.
  5. Beat egg until foamy.
  6. Dip cheese strips into egg and then cornflake mixture.
  7. Place on baking sheet and cook for five to eight minutes, until cheese is bubbling out slightly.
  8. Remove and let stand for a minute or two before eating.
, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

