The End of the Wheat…

Thanks for stopping by!

If you’ve found your way here, I’m guessing that you know what we’re all about. Just in case, though, here’s the basics: I like to eat out, but I have Celiac disease. This means that I can’t have any wheat, rye, barley, or most types of oats in anything that I eat.

Sounds pretty simple, right? Try this: Take out a few canned or processed items from your cupboard and read them. How many items contain wheat, rye, barley, or oats in any form?

Now, think about trying to dine out, and placing your trust in someone that you don’t know, cooking for you behind closed doors.

I have eaten at many restaurants since being diagnosed with Celiac disease in September of 2009. Some experiences have been fantastic, exceeding my wildest expectations. Others… well… let’s just say there are certain places I probably won’t visit again.

My goal is two-fold. One is to give Celiacs a guide to some places that I have found to be gluten-free friendly, particularly places in and around Halifax, Nova Scotia.

I also would like to help educate the hospitality industry on why it’s important and what mistakes are often made, so that no Celiac ever has to hear, “Um, does that mean you can’t have dairy?” from a befuddled server ever again.

So stay tuned, because I’ll soon be posting reviews of local restaurants and popular chains, as well as some general information and exciting news.

Cheerio!

, , , , ,

  1. Happy First Birthday To Us! « Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

