Fogged at the Goggle

 

May 2013 Update:  We’ve been back to the Goggle, read all about it! (hint: much much better)

 

Visited In: July 2010
Gluten Free Menu: No
Server Knowledge: No Stars
Server Attitude: One Star
Variety of Gluten-Free Options: One Star
Overall Gluten-Friendly Rating: One Star
Price Range: $10-$20 per person, plus drinks

My boyfriend and I have been to the Foggy Goggle many times for drinks. Although I’ve never eaten there, he is a big fan of the Foggy Spuds. So, one summer day after a long afternoon of kayaking, we decided to stake out space on their patio and have some supper and some drinks.

We had a seat and were greeted by a less-than-enthusiastic waitress. As we were waiting, we looked at the menu. I knew that they didn’t have a deep-fryer on site, which was encouraging. As well, a long disclaimer at the bottom of each  page of the menu stated that they were happy to modify menu items for anyone with allergies. Perfect!

When our server brought our beverages back, I asked what she would recommend for gluten-free entrees. She suggested the vegetable wrap… which comes in a whole wheat tortilla. When I asked about the tortilla, she replied, “Oh…” and stared off into space.

This wasn’t a good sign.

She said that she would check with the kitchen and get back to us. When she returned, she suggested one of their salads. “Are there any other options?” I asked. I was starving and had had a salad for lunch. I wanted something more substantial.

“No,” she replied.

Now, clearly there ARE other options on their menu that would likely be gluten-free, such as their mussels or their vegan bowl. But I wasn’t going to press further – this is downtown Halifax, and if she felt that salads were the only option for me, I’d go elsewhere.

And that’s just what we did. I asked for a moment to think about it, and my boyfriend agreed that we would go elsewhere, partially because of the lack of variety but mostly because of her poor attitude. When we asked for our bill and paid, she was clearly annoyed.

My boyfriend feels that we got a bad server on a bad day, and I agree. But the experience completely soured me on the Foggy Goggle, and I haven’t been back since – not even for a drink.

Too bad, Goggle – I really do think you have the potential to be a great gluten-free option.

The Foggy Goggle
1667 Argyle Street
902-444-1414
Web Site: http://thefoggygoggle.ca

Visited In: July 2010
Gluten Free Menu: No
Server Knowledge:
Server Attitude:
Variety of Gluten-Free Options:
Overall Gluten-Friendly Rating:

Visited In:

July 2010

Gluten Free Menu:

No

Server Knowledge:

Server Attitude:

Variety of Gluten-Free Options:

Overall Gluten-Friendly Rating:

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Tim Roberts on July 27, 2011 - 8:04 pm

    Hi , was just doing a Google search for the Foggy Goggle and came upon this July 2010 entry. Then explored the site and laughed – I, too, am a King’s J-school grad (2006 as a relatively mature student) who was diagnosed with celiac in the last couple years.

    All the best with your writing and diet, etc. I’ll definitely check in with a degree of frequency. Plus it’s a great name. I’m a sucker for puns.

    Cheers,
    Tim Roberts

    ps I agree with one part of the entry – you were shafted with a bad server that day and it’s really too bad. The FG (of the Foggle, as I call it) is my favourite watering hole in town and while it doesn’t have as many GF options as Pipa next door, it has enough to keep me coming back. The staff is awesome. The other day, I mentioned to Julie (one of the co-owners) that the Wooden Monkey now stocks Schnitzer Brau, a GF beer I’ve taken a shine to… and she said she’d order it in, just like that. Believe me, the bulk of the staff are aware of celiac (if only because I’m such a whiner).

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on July 28, 2011 - 3:57 pm

      Thanks for the kind words Tim – and it’s always nice to meet another J-grad. 🙂 I will try to give the Foggle (love that!) another shot, and thanks for the tip about Pipa! If you find any other good spots that I should try, let me know. 🙂

      Cheers,

      Kim

  1. Updates on Our Favourite Places! « Gluten For Punishment
  2. The Best (And The Rest) of 2012 « Gluten For Punishment
  3. Giving the Foggy Goggle Another Try | Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

