Moxie’s is a Class Above the Rest

Visited In: July and September 2010
Gluten Free Menu: No
Manager Knowledge:
Manager Attitude:
Variety of Gluten-Free Options:
Overall Gluten-Friendly Rating: 1/2
Price Range: $15-$25 (entrée only)

Moxie’s Classic Grill made its appearance in Dartmouth Crossing about two years ago. I haven’t been there that often because I find there’s nothing that really pulls me there above other places. Granted, they have pretty cool drinks and a nicer atmosphere than most, but I find their food on the pricey side. However, when it comes to dealing with allergies, they’re a class above the rest.

My first experience was when I went there for drinks one night with friends. I was feeling munchy and asked the waitress if their Caesar salad was gluten-free. She said she thought so but that she would bring the manager over.

This, apparently is how Moxie’s works. They train all their managers very thoroughly on allergies and intolerances. Then, when a customer asks a waitress about an allergy concern, the waitress brings the manager over to discuss the customer’s concerns. In my opinion, this does two things. One, it gives the customer better information. Two, it also makes the customer feel less rushed and the waitress less stressed, as the manager isn’t trying to handle multiple tables. I thought it was fantastic, especially for a chain.

The manager explained to me that many of their items can be made gluten-free. The Caesar salad is fine without the croutons, as is the Mosaic dip (they offered to bring vegetables instead of bread) and their dry ribs. Many of their salads, all of their steaks, and most of their entrées can also be done gluten-free. I am sure they would do a sandwich without the bread as well. The manager was very happy to accommodate, seemed very knowledgeable, and was really friendly. It was certainly more than I was expecting from a chain restaurant.

Although it was long past supper on that visit, Mike and I did go back a second time for a real meal. Moxie’s didn’t disappoint – our server (who was less than stellar) brought a manager over to discuss my meal. I chose their honey-roasted garlic top sirloin with a stuffed baked potato, while Mike had the New York steak. My meal was delicious, simple, and definitely gluten-free. Mike’s was not bad, but the honey-roasted steak was certainly more flavorful.

I know that many people complain about the attire of the servers and the price of Moxie’s food, but it’s an excellent option for anyone with allergies who is concerned about eating out.

Moxie’s Classic Grill
9 Countryview Drive (Dartmouth)
902-406-0044
Web Site: http://www.moxies.ca

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

