Ever since I have been diagnosed with Celiac disease, one thing frustrates me the most. It’s not the stupid comments from people, insensitivity of others, or even the restricted nature of the diet.
No, what irritates me is food that should be gluten-free but isn’t because of a single additive. Here is my list of pet peeve products.
For a while, I was buying these great chicken strips that I used in stir-fries and tacos. These are basically chicken breasts that were pre-sliced and pre-cooked, so you just had to heat them up in a frying pan for a few minutes. I obviously had never checked the ingredients, because when I did read the list, I was shocked to see a wheat-containing glaze in the list and malt vinegar. I have since found a fresh, natural product by Pinto’s to replace it, but it’s much more expensive.
Corn Flakes, Rice Krispies, and Fudgesicles
All of these products contain malt extract, which is made from barley. I wonder if these companies are aware of how much of their market they’re excluding because of one ingredient?
I used to eat these hashbrowns all the time before I was diagnosed, and continued eating afterward. I happened to look at the ingredient list one day and was shocked at how long it was. Even worse, one of the ingredients was a preservative that could contain wheat flour. Now, I stick to hashbrowns that are just potatoes.
Most varieties of these bad boys contain wheat starch, although two of their new Extreme flavours (Wasabi and Flamin Chili Sauce) are gluten-free. However, all flavours of Lay’s Stax are guaranteed to be gluten-free.
Caesar Salad Dressing
Most Caesar salad dressings contain wheat. I really like the Renee’s line of products, as they offer many salad dressings (including Caesar) that are gluten-free. Click here for a list.