Maple Leaf Foods Makes Gluten-Free Meats!

Maple Leaf has come out with an exciting new line of meat products! It’s called Natural Selections since the entire line contains no preservatives, artificial ingredients, or fillers.

As far as I can tell, they are also gluten-free. (I have had the salami and had no issues. I am waiting for a reply from Maple Leaf for official confirmation.) The main ingredients are:

  • Meat (not processed)
  • Cane sugar
  • Lemon juice
  • Sea salt
  • Celery and garlic spices
  • Potato starch
  • Smoke flavour

Currently, the line includes roast beef, salami, ham, and turkey. The Web site lists each product and its ingredients. Check it out – I am sure you’ll be as impressed as I am!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Andrea on August 1, 2011 - 3:03 am

    Did they reply? Dietitian told me they may slice non gluten free meat on same machine.

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on August 1, 2011 - 3:50 pm

      I haven’t heard back from Maple Leaf on this, but I do know that if they use the same machinery for non-gluten free meat, they must indicate this on the package. So far I have not seen any warnings.

      Your local deli is likely a different story – if purchasing from there I would definitely ask them.

  2. #3 by Raven on September 8, 2011 - 12:46 pm

    I’ve had the sliced lunch meat and the actual ham – I find the flavour a bit spice-heavy (hyeah, I’m a wimp) but haven’t had any gluten reactions. Nice! I usually get Piller’s meats though, because I like the flavour better … however, it’s nice to have a backup!

    • #4 by glutenfree4hfx on September 12, 2011 - 12:01 pm

      I haven’t seen Pillers around here… but it’s nice to have options! Buddig’s is another great brand.

      • #5 by glutenfree4hfx on September 17, 2011 - 10:00 am

        I found Pillars at Costco the other night – exciting times 🙂

  3. #6 by Marie on January 13, 2014 - 9:02 pm

    Did you know that the Celery and Garlic ingredients that they are listing is actually a preservative.
    Check out MarketPlace show recently aired this product.

    • #7 by glutenfree4hfx on January 13, 2014 - 11:35 pm

      Yes, they are natural preservatives. They stopped labeling their products preservative free because of that.

  1. What Are You Having for Lunch? « Gluten For Punishment
  2. Getting Started Gluten-Free « Gluten For Punishment
  3. Finding Processed Meats That Aren’t So Processed « Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

