What Are You Having for Lunch?

I have always had a hard time finding something for lunches, and it’s even tougher now that I have Celiac disease. Although I work from home and therefore have more options than most people, it can still be hard to find something to fulfill that mid-day hunger.

To help you out, I thought that I would share some of the things that I am having for lunch this week!

  • Nachos: Made from Food Should Taste Good multigrain chips (which I get at Costco) and cheddar cheese. Normal people would probably add peppers, onions, salsa, and sour cream. All of these ingredients are naturally gluten-free, but always read the ingredients!
  • Big Life Pepperoni Pizza: Actually, leftovers from the night before, but still great. I love the pepperoni flavour! It can be found at the Halifax Farmer’s Market as well as various organic stores in Halifax.
  • Schneiders’ Country Naturals Hot Dogs: Another company has come out with processed-style meat without the additives and fillers. They are available in regular and BBQ size and are fantastic! Costco also offers gluten-free hot dogs in bulk, but I find this package size more manageable.
  • Tacos: I use Old El Paso Stand N’Stuff shells, Pinto’s sliced chicken (cooked with gluten-free Italian seasoning), cheddar cheese, and lettuce. Again, normal people would probably add peppers, onions, salsa, and sour cream. Always check the ingredients!
  • Hashbrown Casserole: I often make a big pot on Sundays and eat the leftovers during the week. Read the recipe here!
  • Sandwiches have become a staple. I use gluten-free bread and usually buy Maple Leaf’s Natural Selections meat. (See our review here.)

What are your gluten-free lunch staples? Comment and tell us!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Getting Started Gluten-Free « Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

