Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Now Available in the U.S.

According to the Rice Krispies Web site, gluten-free Rice Krispies are now available. The site says,

“The new cereal is made with whole-grain brown rice and eliminates barley malt (the source of gluten in the original Rice Krispies® cereal). Our gluten-free option is produced in a separate facility, and each batch will be tested to ensure its gluten-free status. You’ll find Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal in the cereal aisle, right alongside the original Rice Krispies® cereal, and at the same price, too!”

They have also modified the recipe for Rice Krispie squares to make a gluten-free version. (I don’t see the difference from the normal recipe, but it is nice to see a gluten-free version with a reminder to check that ALL ingredients are GF.)

I will definitely be going on the hunt for some gluten-free Rice Krispies the next time I am across the border. (If you’re curious why we can’t get this new product here, see Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Not Coming to Canada!!!

If any of you have a chance to try it in the meantime, let me know how it is!

Advertisements

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by glutenfreegimmethree on June 13, 2011 - 10:38 am

    YES! I love that there are more and more gf cereals available at normal grocery stores. There is nothing like a classic rice krispies treat 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: