New Glasgow’s Gluten-Free Goodies Are Worth The Trip

A few weeks ago I posted about Gluten-Free Goodies, a gluten-free bakery in New Glasgow, Nova Scotia. This weekend, I was visiting some friends in Pictou, and they dropped off a big sampler package. (Disclaimer: I am friends with the nephew of one of the owners.) I was drooling just at the sight of it!

Gluten-free desserts

Sampler of Gluten-Free Goodies

The package included:

  • A blueberry streusel muffin
  • A chocolate chip muffin
  • Four truffles
  • Two lemon curd cupcakes (a trial item, originally thought that they were friands :))

The chocolate chip muffin was the first casualty – it didn’t make it out of Pictou! It was very delicious and chocolatey. ( I don’t think Mike was impressed at the giant mess I made, though!) It was a bit dense, but less so than other gluten-free muffins and breads that I have tried. Definitely one of the best gluten-free muffins I have tried (surpassed only by the blueberry streusel one!), and an excellent breakfast.

The truffles were next – they didn’t make it past Truro! These chocolate balls rolled in coconut were to die for. I gave Mike a bite and he agreed that they were amazing. At $5.75 for a dozen, they’re a must-have.

I shared one of the lemon cupcakes with my mom. (They have a lemon filling and white icing.) I am pretty sure that she said they were fantastic, but she was stuffing the whole thing into her mouth so it wasn’t entirely clear!

This morning’s breakfast was the blueberry streusel muffin. Light, fluffy, full of blueberries, and with a delicious streusel topping, it was amazing, and I wished I had more!

The best part was that I felt great (if rather full)  after every treat – zero gluten symptoms! I will definitely be contacting them the next time that I am near New Glasgow to place an order. These treats are totally worth the trip. You can contact Gluten-Free Goodies at 1-877-940-9339 or contact them here http://www.glutenfreegoodies.ca/Contact_Us.html.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kirstin MacDonald on June 30, 2011 - 9:59 am

    Hi
    So glad you enjoyed our goodies!! Just a small correction – the lemon goodie is a lemon curd cupcake that we were trialling that week , not the Friand. We had success with the cupcake and curd but our icing wouldn’t cooperate!! (You weren’t supposed to immortalise our mistake with a picture!!lol) But we’re always glad to hear positive feedback and when you’re in town next the raspberry friands are a must try – you can always order on-line so you have them when you arrive.
    Take care.
    Kirstin MacDonald

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on July 2, 2011 - 11:41 am

      I’ll update the post to fix that – sorry about the mistake! Although anything that tastes that good cannot really be called a mistake. 🙂 Thanks again for the goodies!

Leave a Reply

