New York Fries is Gluten-Friendly… Sort Of

The other day, I stumbled across this thread from the Edmonton Celiac Association talking about how New York Fries‘ poutine is gluten-free. Impossible, I thought! Well, I tried their poutine, and their gravy definitely didn’t taste wheat-based, nor did I get sick. So, I thought I would investigate further.

An e-mail to New York Fries revealed the following:

  • Their French fries contain no wheat or gluten, and their fryers are used only for French fries.
  • All poutines, including the original recipe with gravy, Braised Beef, Butter Chicken, and Works, are gluten-free!
  • In other words, all veggies, the cheese sauce, and their chili are also gluten-free.

The catch is that the gravy, poutine sauces, Cajun seasoning, cheese sauce, and chili are made in plants where gluten is present, so they cannot guarantee that there has been no contamination.

California seasoning, malt vinegar, hot dogs, and buns are not gluten-free.

The bottom line: Most of New York Fries’ menu should be gluten-free. However, alert the staff to any allergy when ordering. And I am pretty sure that poutine isn’t in Canada’s food guide anyway… so make this a treat!

Advertisements

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Justin on January 24, 2012 - 6:17 pm

    I inquired directly with NYF about potential gluten in their fries / sauces and I recieved the following respose:

    Dear Justin,

    Please find below gluten information for the NYF menu items.

    There are no wheat ingredients in our fries. Each NYF unit cuts whole fresh potatoes daily and the potatoes are soaked in fresh cold water with no additives. The Fries are cooked in non-hydrogenated sunflower oil and lightly salted before serving. Fries are the only menu item cooked in the oil.

    The NYF gravy does not contain gluten; however, the plant where it is manufactured uses wheat flour and due to the mixing process, our supplier cannot guarantee that there is no airborne contamination. The California Seasoning and the Cajun Seasoning are made in the same plant. Like the gravy, the Cajun Seasoning does not contain gluten; however, the manufacturer cannot guarantee that this product is gluten free because of the possibility of airborne contamination. The California Seasoning does contain gluten.

    The ketchup and Cheese Curds are gluten free. The Cheese Sauce and Chili do not contain gluten but it is manufactured in a plant where gluten is present and the manufacturer cannot guarantee that the product is gluten free.

    The fresh vegetables – tomatoes, green onions, white onions – are not mixed with any preservatives or spices.

    The two new Poutine Sauces – Butter Chicken and Braised Beef are gluten free. However, gluten is present in other products manufactured on the same production line.

    We do have other products in our stores that contain gluten (e.g. hot dogs, buns and malt vinegar) and the possibility of cross contamination does exist.

    Thank you for your email.

    Best regards,

    Polina Rakina
    Office Assistant

    NEW YORK FRIES + SOUTH ST. BURGER CO.
    1220 Yonge Street
    Suite 400
    Toronto, Ontario
    M4T 1W1

  2. #2 by linkette on January 18, 2014 - 3:52 pm

    And I am pretty sure that poutine isn’t in Canada’s food guide anyway…

    Blasphemy!

  1. Another Poutinerie? Be Still My Heart! « Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: