Had a Great Time at Bâton Rouge… But We’re Not Sure Why!

Visited In: August 2011
Gluten Free Menu: Chain does have one; Halifax location does not currently have a copy
Server Knowledge: 3 stars
Server Attitude: 4 stars
Variety of Gluten-Free Options:
Overall Gluten-Friendly Rating: 2 stars
Price Range: $15-$20 per person (plus drinks, tax, and tip)

I ate at Bâton Rouge several years ago (pre-Celiac) and thoroughly enjoyed it, so I was very excited when they announced that they were coming to Halifax. Mike and I waited a few weeks after their opening to try the Halifax location out.

We had heard that they were quite busy, so I called to make a reservation. In addition to my name and phone number, she asked if anyone in our party had allergies. I told her that I had a gluten allergy. She assured me that many of their items were gluten-free and said that she would make sure that their gluten-free menu was available. We were off to a great start!

When we arrived at the restaurant (located in the old Morse’s Tea building), we were really impressed by the décor and the atmosphere. We were seated upstairs in a nice corner booth. I ordered wine and Mike had a beer to start. Our server then said that unfortunately, they had lost their gluten-free menu but he could check with the chef to ensure that I would be safe.

OK, hold the phone for a moment. You’ve been open for just a few weeks and you’ve already LOST the menu? You’re a large chain and you can’t somehow get another one?

Then more bad news: the restaurant’s gluten-free items do not match up at all with their website’s nutritional information. None of their salad dressings nor their homemade barbeque sauce is gluten-free, as the soy sauce they use has wheat in it. With that in mind, I settled on the Amarillo Chicken – a boneless, skinless chicken breast, marinated and grilled, topped with cheese and veggies. Mike ordered their ribs. We both got garlic mashed potatoes on the side.

We enjoyed people-watching and checking out the new décor while we waited for our food. We dug right in when it arrived. I was surprised to find that my chicken breast was completely sauceless. I am guessing that the marinade had wheat in it, but it would have been nice to know, as I probably would have chosen something else. As well, they had green onions on the top rather than scallions. The mashed potatoes were great, albeit fake. Mike’s ribs were also excellent, although the portion size was smaller than he expected.

Once we were finished, we decided to check out their dessert menu. We had to ask the server to check which items were gluten-free, although Mike saw several items that he wanted to try. The server returned with bad news: the only gluten-free dessert is chocolate mousse. I was about to order that when he continued to say that they had already run out. It was 7:30 p.m. on a Friday night! I thought Mike was going to go through the roof. The server asked him what dessert he wanted and he said he wouldn’t eat if I couldn’t. We finished our drinks, paid, and left.

Overall, we had a great time – but I’m not entirely sure why! I’d love to go back when they get their gluten-free options straightened out.

Bâton Rouge
1877 Hollis Street (Halifax)
902-407-0007
Web Site: http://www.batonrougerestaurants.com

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Updates on Our Favourite Places! « Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

