My Favorite Gluten-Free Beer So Far Is…

The good news: I have finally found a gluten-free beer that I actually like. It’s made by a dedicated gluten-free beer company (Green’s) and is called Dubbel Dark Ale. It tastes like barley-based beers – not like a mouthful of dead rice.

The bad news: It isn’t available in Canada (as far as I could tell).

However, I contacted the Nova Scotia Liquor Corporation to ask about its availability. They said:

“I will forward your product suggestion to our Beer Category Manager. He’s interested in expanding our gluten-free selection so I’m sure this information will come in handy.”

As well, the NSLC allows you to place a special order (minimum one case, meaning 12 bottles) and they will source it for you. I have ordered some and am waiting on the cost details. I will keep you all up to date!

HealthCastle.com also has a good article on different types of gluten-free beers here.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dawn on December 6, 2011 - 8:33 pm

    Sounds yummy. Did you get any more information on price?

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on December 7, 2011 - 11:35 am

      Unfortunately they will not import it into Canada at all due to price and pasteurization issues. Sad!

  2. #3 by Brian on December 7, 2011 - 11:23 am

    Have you tried Bard’s Gold? It is available in Halifax.

    • #4 by glutenfree4hfx on December 7, 2011 - 11:35 am

      I actually picked up a bottle the other day and it’s in the fridge! I hear it’s good?

  3. #5 by Dawn on December 7, 2011 - 4:45 pm

    That’s too bad that they won’t import Green’s. I’ve tried Bard’s Gold and it’s pretty good. One of the best one I’ve had so far is Estrella Damm Daura from Spain…..I guess I’ll have to go back to Spain to get some more! 🙂 I heard it’s available in the US but I’ve never seen it in Canada.

    • #6 by glutenfree4hfx on December 9, 2011 - 3:17 pm

      I did a bit of poking around and it looks like you can get it in the U.S. and in a few places in Canada. http://www.zyn.ca delivers within Alberta and most liquor stores will special order it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

