Review of Evan’s Seafood

I had planned on doing a review today, but Bill Spurr from the Chronicle Herald beat me to it! Today’s review in the Chronicle Herald is on Evan’s Seafood in Alderney Gate (Dartmouth). Check it out here!

Side Note: Schoolhouse Gourmet supplies their products, and confirms that they do use a dedicated fryer!

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dawn on December 8, 2011 - 3:33 pm

    I had the fish and chips there a few weeks ago and thought it was great! I had the sweet potato fries instead of regular fries….very yummy! 🙂

  2. #2 by Dave on June 5, 2012 - 10:24 am

    Wow. Up until today, I thought the only gluten-free food in Halifax was the NY Fries in the mall, or Pizzatown’s gluten free pizza. This is incredible…thank you SO MUCH for this blog, it’s almost making me cry with joy!!! No more “what can I possibly eat” when I visit Halifax!!!!

    • #3 by glutenfree4hfx on June 5, 2012 - 12:07 pm

      Thanks so much for the kind words! There are so many fantastic food people in Halifax really making an effort to feed the gluten-free population, and I’m happy to be able to share in the efforts (and eat all the yummy food!). There really are so many safe options and we’re happy to help you find them. As well, we are always looking for new places to try so please share suggestions. 🙂 Thank you!

  3. #4 by Dave on June 17, 2012 - 4:05 pm

    Okay, I made it over to Evan’s today and sampled their two-piece fish and chips. Here’s my review:

    I went there at around 11am on Sunday when they were just opening. I said, “I understand you have gluten-free fish and chips?” The girl replied, “Yes, all our fish and chips are gluten free.” This is great–they just have a gluten-free batter they use for everybody, celiacs and non-celiacs alike. I ordered the two-piece, which was $9.

    The food was definitely tasty. The chips were fresh-cut, and the batter was a brown breaded-looking batter (not the smooth thin crispy “beer batter” type, which I frankly prefer). It was also VERY salty (I didn’t put any salt at all on anything); both the fries AND the fish batter left a salty taste in my mouth after eating them. It was quite pronounced, to the point where I felt compelled to mention it to the girl when she came over and asked how the food was. I don’t know if this is how it always is, or if I just hit them on a bad day, or what. Now, I will qualify this by saying it was not SO bad that I wouldn’t go back. If I was in Dartmouth and was hungry, I’d certainly eat there again. All I’m saying here is that if you don’t like salty food, you may not like this.

    Another thing that sort of bugged me slightly was that the portions were pretty small. She called the fish pieces “four-ounce” pieces, which were slightly longer than the length of my index finger. There were also not quite as many fries as I would’ve liked. Let’s put it this way–they weren’t what I’d call “generous portions”. In retrospect, I would’ve needed the three-piece fish and chips to feel more satiated. Everything came on a single medium-sized plate. It just all seemed a bit short for $9, particular with the somewhat stingy apportionment of fries (I will never understand why restaurants don’t just go overboard on fries….I mean they’re potatoes, they cost practically nothing…..but, I digress!)

    All that being said…I was overjoyed at the opportunity to go out to a restaurant and have fish and chips like a normal human being, without the slightest worry of cross-contamination. I would definitely eat there again, and I’m incredibly thankful that Evan’s is conscientious about catering to the gluten-free community (there’s a link talking about it right on their website). I give it 3.25 out of 5 stars…would be 4.5 stars if the portions were larger and the food a bit less salty.

    • #5 by glutenfree4hfx on June 17, 2012 - 6:04 pm

      Thanks for the info! I haven’t tried Evans’ yet but sounds like it’s worth a shot. It’s especially good that everything is GF, meaning no concerns about cross-contamination.

      • #6 by Dave on June 18, 2012 - 9:21 am

        Exactly–the elimination of the cross-contamination concern was really comforting. If/when you do make it over there, I’ll be curious to read your review 🙂

  4. #7 by Dave on June 17, 2012 - 4:09 pm

    In re-reading what I just typed above (I wish I could edit posts!)…just to clarify–aside from the very salty taste, the general taste of the food was great. The fish tasted terrific and fresh, etc.

Leave a Reply

