Natural Selections Weiners Now Gluten-Free!

We picked up some Maple Leaf Natural Selections hot dogs today and got a pleasant surprise!

20120614-172446.jpg

They are now labelled gluten-free! (Before, they contained no gluten but Maple Leaf wouldn’t guarantee that there was no cross-contamination.) I can’t find any information on their website about how the certification happened, or if any of their other products are going to be certified, but we’ll be sure to keep you to date.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dave on June 14, 2012 - 5:48 pm

    Yep, great news eh? 🙂 I bought some of these a week ago, and I was going to post something on here, but I couldn’t remember if they’d always been GF or not. For what it’s worth, after tasting them, I can’t say I think they taste better than the Schneiders “Naturals” ones (I forget what they’re called…they have a similar olive-coloured packaging). But it’s great to have these kinds of options, and great that manufacturers are starting to come around to GF!

    A side story–Maple Leaf has been on my bad list because I almost was accidentally glutened by them. I’d always bought their Top Dogs, because they’d always been GF. One day I went to Superstore, grabbed a pack, and was ready to toss them into the cart….and then the little voice in my head said, “Hey, check the ingredients as you always do” (this is soon after I was diagnosed.) I looked at the package, and would you believe….they suddenly had wheat gluten listed. In 3-point font in the ingredients list. I went home, looked it up, and there was a minor press release that I found on Google’s page 5 or something, saying that they were no longer GF. I shudder to think how many people might’ve kept buying those, thinking they were GF, and not checking the ingredients.

    Anyway, they’re back on my good list for making these clearly GF 🙂

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on June 14, 2012 - 7:22 pm

      That’s terrible about the top dogs! Awesome that you now have a replacement 🙂 (And you’re right, they weren’t labelled GF until recently – I e-mailed them last year and checked!)

  2. #3 by Dave on June 14, 2012 - 5:49 pm

    (and just to clarify for anyone else reading this—the Top Dogs still contain wheat)

  3. #4 by My Nova Scotian Home on June 14, 2012 - 6:27 pm

    I got sucked into the “natural” hoopla with the Natural Selections until CBC blew the lid off Maple Leaf’s misleading product name “Natural Selections” and label concerning “nitrate free” on their labels. Claiming to be healthy and natural while not disclosing that your ingredients are known carcinogens isn’t cool (cultured celery extract/sodium nitrate). Naturally occurring doesn’t mean healthy. I wonder what out there is safe to eat anymore.

    • #5 by glutenfree4hfx on June 14, 2012 - 7:22 pm

      It’s great that the natural selections only use celery extract, which is a naturally occurring nitrate and not bad for you!

      • #6 by My Nova Scotian Home on June 18, 2012 - 3:00 pm

        That’s what I thought too until I started reading about why people were making a big deal out of it being one of the ingredients. It can be bad for you as cultured celery extract is linked to known carcinogens. That being said… compared to other sliced processed meats it’s probably better for you. No question there.

Leave a Reply

