Chez Yvonne’s is a Cavendish Treat

Visited On: August 19, 2012
Gluten Free Menu: No
Server Knowledge:
Server Attitude:
Variety of Gluten-Free Options:
Overall Gluten-Friendly Rating:
Price Range: $7.99-$27.99

Michael and I were recently on Prince Edward Island to visit family. We dined with some of them at Chez Yvonne’s, a Cavendish family restaurant. Michael was seriously doubtful that I’d be able to eat there, but I was convinced they would have at least something gluten-free.

We arrived at the restaurant for lunch and were promptly seated by a family member who works there. We ordered drinks and were offered rolls. Our server also asked if I wanted some gluten-free toast, and explained that all their French fries are fried separately from breaded items. We were off to a great start!

I really appreciated them toasting the bread, and it tasted like Glutino corn bread, which is one of my favorites. Two of our family members ordered the special of the day (a roast turkey dinner with all the trimmings, $11.99). Michael ordered a hot turkey sandwich with fries ($9.99). I ordered the scallop entrée with fries ($16.99). I was really pleased to see that they offered two surf and turf dishes, two steak dishes, and at least six seafood dishes that could be ordered gluten-free. (Most of the fish can be pan fried, broiled, or poached, leaving lots of non-fried options.) There are also plenty of sandwiches, and although I didn’t ask about them, I am sure that they could be done gluten-free also, since they stock gluten-free bread in the kitchen. Their menu is huge, including a large children’s menu, ensuring that there is something for everyone.

Our meals weren’t long in arriving. When I saw the portion sizes, I was glad we hadn’t ordered an appetizer! Everyone had a huge plate of food. I had 12 scallops in a small dish on my plate. They had been perfectly pan-fried in garlic butter, with extra melted butter for dipping. As well, the French fries (although from frozen) were so delicious and light, it was incredible. The steamed vegetables on the plate were nothing special, but the homemade coleslaw was a nice touch. The only unfortunate part was that we didn’t have room for dessert. (The dessert menu is dominated by cakes and cheesecake, although there is ice cream available.)

Chez Yvonne’s is the kind of place that people from near and far alike flock to – myself included!

Chez Yvonne’s
Route 6, Cavendish, PEI
(902) 963-2070
Website:
http://www.chezyvonnes.com

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dave on August 29, 2012 - 9:07 pm

    …..aaaaand, into the mental database of “places to go when in PEI” it goes 😉 Thanks for the great review; I’ll have to check it out!

  2. #2 by Flo on January 24, 2015 - 11:20 am

    we planned our trip last summer around spots that I could eat at and were sadly disappointed when we came here for breakfast. I asked the server if the gluten free bread was toasted in a different toaster and she seemed confused and answered no. I then asked if everything was cooked on the same cooktop and she answered yes. My hard boiled egg and orange slices were not the breakfast I’d been looking forward to, I won’t be back.

    • #3 by glutenfree4hfx on January 24, 2015 - 11:35 am

      I’m sorry you had a bad experience. I’ve eaten there many times and never had an issue. 😦

Leave a Reply

