Relishing a Burger and a Beer!

Visited On: December 7, 2012
Gluten Free Menu: Options listed with regular menu
Server Knowledge:
Server Attitude:
Variety of Gluten-Free Options: 1/2
Overall Gluten-Friendly Rating:
Price Range: $10-$15

Last Friday, Michael and I had the chance to check out Relish Gourmet Burgers, located in the old Blockbuster building on Quinpool Road. I knew I was in for a treat when one of the first things I saw was Glutenberg beer and a note on the chalkboard menu saying they offered gluten-free buns!

I ordered The Great One ($8.96 plus $2 for a gluten-free bun), which has the standard lettuce, tomato, relish, and garlic mayonnaise, plus bacon and cheese. I asked about the French fries, which are not gluten-free as they are fried with other items. (In fact, only one of the five side dishes is gluten free: cool slaw. That’s a bit of a disappointment. However, I hear that other locations cook their French fries separately, so perhaps there’s hope for Halifax!)

That being said, I was very happy that I could have a burger with my beer! (They have plenty of non-alcoholic options as well, but I am super addicted to Glutenberg right now. J) As well, all toppings and sauces except for the onion frites are gluten free. Michael ordered the Big Texas with fries ($12.26) while his aunt got The Simpleton. We all chose Angus beef for our patty, although ground turkey and vegetarian patties are available.

We had managed to arrive before the lunch rush, so our burgers weren’t long in arriving. I normally stick to pretty basic toppings (i.e. ketchup and cheese) but I really enjoyed the fresh veggies and the unique handchopped relish on my burger. Plus, the patty was super juicy, and the bun was to die for. Fresh, toasted, and pleasantly textured, it would be hard to tell it from a bun with gluten.

Yummy!

Yummy!

 

We all enjoyed our lunch at Relish, and I’m looking forward to our next visit. With some gluten-free side dish options, it would be a hard burger place to beat!

Relish Gourmet Burgers
6024 Quinpool Road (Halifax)
902-474-4152
Web Site: http://www.relishyou.ca

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. The Best (And The Rest) of 2012 « Gluten For Punishment
  2. More Gourmet Burgers Coming to Halifax! | Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

