The Hart & Thistle Leaves Me Hungry

Visited On: February 28, 2013
Gluten Free Menu: No
Server Knowledge:
Server Attitude: 1/2
Variety of Gluten-Free Options: 1/2
Overall Gluten-Friendly Rating:
Price Range: $10-$30 per person, plus drinks, tax, and tip

Last month, I decided to meet Mike in town and try out The Hart & Thistle in Historic Properties. Although it’s a brewery, it distinguishes itself as a gastropub, meaning the food is supposed to be higher quality and prepared fresh. I thought that this boded well for gluten-free options. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

When I arrived, we grabbed a booth and looked at the menu. Mike was already into their handcrafted beer and had decided what he wanted to order based on a Foursquare recommendation: the clubhouse sandwich with fries ($13). I told the waiter that I had a gluten intolerance and his response was, “Oh, that sucks.” I shrugged it off and asked him about gluten-free options. He recommended any of the salads, the chili, or the Thai beef noodle dish. (In hindsight, there seemed to be some omissions. The house-smoked salmon appetizer should have been fine, without the garlic toast. Likewise, they had several steaks that a chef should be able to modify.) I went with a Caesar salad minus the croutons ($9) and a cocktail.

The cocktail was the first disappointment. It was extremely sour and extremely strong – I actually made Mike finish it. The Caesar salad was good, with a homemade dressing and plenty of bacon and Parmesan, but it wasn’t enough for supper. Mike’s clubhouse was not bad, although the ingredients were unevenly distributed, leaving half the sandwich with only chicken and the other half with only bacon.

Since there were no gluten-free dessert options, Mike had another craft beer while I had some water. Overall, there were too few gluten-free options, and even the regular food is below the quality that is advertised. I went home hungry and probably won’t be back to the Hart & Thistle again.

The Hart & Thistle
1869 Upper Water Street (Historic Properties, Halifax, Nova Scotia)
902- 407-4278
Web Site: http://www.hartandthistle.com/

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Ashley on March 25, 2013 - 5:18 am

    That really is disappointing! Must be a bit of an aggravation too. I haven’t really ventured out to eat since being diagnosed, I am admittedly a bit scared that I may get glutened!

    Do you know of any places that do any kind of asian cuisine in and around the city gluten free? Just curious, I’ve started making my own tasty concoctions with asian flair since I just can’t trust any place here in Bridgewater, when I called the few places we have they all sounded very unsure and always said they used non-gluten free soya sauce and didn’t have any other on hand.

    I was also wondering what the most economical place to shop gluten free is for you that you’ve found? Multiple locations? I am slowly stocking up on different supplies and boy, I did not realise how expensive some of the baking supplies and things were! Thanks bunches, keep up your awesome work and blogging! 🙂

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on March 25, 2013 - 6:39 am

      I am glad that you’re finding the blog helpful. 🙂 it is a bit aggravating when a restaurant isn’t super helpful, but overall my experiences have been positive. Eating out can be hard – I’d recommend sticking with places that you know have gluten free options and that others have had a positive experience with to get started. 🙂

      Yelp is a good resource to find reviews as they have a gluten free category. For Asian, in Halifax here the Hamachi group of restaurants is pretty good. If you ever find yourself in New Glasgow, Mamatsu has gluten free options right on their menu. I will keep an ear out for South Shore options for you too. 🙂

      For economical GF options, I’d suggest Bulk Barn. They even have some great mixes!

      We are always happy to help! Good luck and let us know if you need anything else.

Leave a Reply

