Road Tripping in Search of Gluten-Free Beer!


Michael and I just got back from a short road trip down through Maine. I love outlet shopping and seeing what kind of gluten-free goodies I can find at grocery and liquor stores. I tried three new gluten-free beers in four days! Unfortunately, none of these are currently available in Canada, so I think it’s time to do some lobbying.

Omission Gluten Free

The first experiment was Omission Lager. This is a craft beer that is brewed with barley, but has the gluten removed from it with a special process. You can check out the ELISA test results (which gives you the parts per million of gluten) for each batch online – here’s the results for our bottles. This one was my favourite of the trip, and probably my favorite gluten-free beer to date. (Yes, right up there with Glutenberg!) It tasted exactly like traditional barley-based beer; Michael and I actually shared the six-pack.

New Planet Gluten Free

The next night, we went to Linda Bean’s Maine Kitchen and Topside Tavern. I’ve posted about this place before – they can make almost anything on their four-page menu gluten-free, including fried seafood, macaroni and cheese, lobster rolls, and chicken strips. (I absolutely pigged out on a five-piece fish and chips when we were there!) With all these options, it’s no surprise to find Estrella Damm Daura and New Planet gluten-free beers on the menu. I tried the Raspberry Ale by New Planet, and it was amazing. I would have had another if I hadn’t been so full from my seafood binge! It was light and refreshing with just a hint of raspberry.

Redbridge Gluten Free

The final find was at the Great Lost Bear pub in Portland. I was happy to see that they have a gluten-free menu, and even happier to see that they carried Redbridge. Made by Anheuser-Busch (who also brew Budweiser, Bud Light, and Shock Top), it had a bit of a rice-y flavor to start with, but it quickly grew on me. It went down great with some nachos!

The only item I didn’t see in either the United States or New Brunswick was Glutenberg. I love the blonde, which is available here in Nova Scotia, but I was looking forward to trying the red and bringing home some cans. Next time!

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Is Bud Light Gluten Free? | Gluten For Punishment
  2. Results are in From the Great Gluten-Free Beer Experiment! | Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

