More Gluten-Free Convenience Foods Appearing in Stores

One of the things that I found most difficult about being diagnosed with Celiac disease was the extra work that had to go into grocery shopping, meal planning, and preparation. No longer could I grab a frozen pizza off the store shelf and serve it to my family for supper. Since then, more convenience options have come out, but they are usually pretty pricey.

However, last week I found Sabatasso’s gluten-free pizza at Costco. At $12.99 for two 12-inch cheese pizzas, I thought it was a great deal. As well, Sabatasso is certified gluten-free by the Canadian Celiac Association! We brought one home, added Natural Selections gluten-free pepperoni, bacon, and fresh Parmesan. Here was the result:

This pizza was big enough to feed two adults for supper. Overall, we found that the taste was quite good, with a tangy sauce and just the right amount of cheese. The middle was a bit soggy and doughy, but I think that’s my fault for cooking it on a cookie sheet instead of directly on the rack like the box recommended.

The other convenience food products I’ve noticed (which are not certified gluten-free, but are free of gluten) are some new offerings by Schneiders Country Naturals. This line now includes hamburgers, chicken burgers, and chicken wings (available in barbeque and honey garlic). The chicken wings are next on my to-try list!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by 050937k2 on July 3, 2013 - 10:34 am

    I picked up these pizzas as well – but haven’t tried them yet. Our Costco also has the Gluntino pretzels and bagel crisps – both of which are awesome!

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on July 3, 2013 - 10:38 am

      The pizzas are great, I’d just recommend cooking them right on the rack. 🙂 I haven’t seen the Glutino pretzels yet but will have to check the next time I’m in!

  2. #3 by Pat O'Brien on July 3, 2013 - 11:51 am

    The Schneiders Country Selects cold meats are a very nice change, too.

    • #4 by glutenfree4hfx on July 3, 2013 - 12:27 pm

      Yes, it’s amazing how many more lunch meats are available now!

  3. #5 by KCahill on July 12, 2013 - 12:59 pm

    Which Costco location do you shop at?! Halifax or Dartmouth? I can never seem to find these great options when I’m at the Halifax site!

    • #6 by glutenfree4hfx on July 12, 2013 - 1:05 pm

      We shop at Dartmouth 🙂 It can be hard to find the gluten-free options since they’re mixed in with the regular products, but I’ve seen cereal, pasta, and bagel chips at Dartmouth! Someone also told me that Glutino pretzels are there too.

  4. #7 by JGreen on August 2, 2013 - 11:41 am

    I tried the pizza last night and loved it! I would never have found it at Costco (Halifax) if it wasn’t for your post. I never look in that section. So THANKS very much! I added the gluten-free turkey sticks from Costco, olives and tomatoes. I thought I may need to put more cheese before I opened the package but there was definitely enough. Even my kids loved it. 🙂

    • #8 by glutenfree4hfx on August 2, 2013 - 11:49 am

      I am so glad you enjoyed it! Your toppings sound yummy – might have to try that. 🙂

  5. #9 by Ulanda on August 24, 2014 - 11:51 pm

    Are the chicken wings actually gluten free? It doesn’t state that on the box, yet their deli meats do state so.

    • #10 by glutenfree4hfx on August 25, 2014 - 8:20 am

      Yes, they are gluten-free. Pinty’s also now offers some similar products that are labelled GF.

  1. The Best (And The Rest) of 2013 | Gluten For Punishment
  2. Costco Eliminating Gluten-Free Products from Nova Scotian Shelves | Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

