Is Blue Cheese Gluten-Free?

As you are all probably well aware, I love cheese. I would eat cheese at every meal, on everything, if I could. Much to Michael’s chagrin, one of my favourites is blue cheese. Unfortunately, blue cheese used to be on the list of foods not allowed on a gluten-free diet. This is because the mold that gives the cheese its distinctive blue/green veins is usually grown on rye or wheat bread. However, researchers have done significant testing since then and have determined that the cheese itself does not contain gluten. (There is a great report summarizing the findings here.) That being said, always read the label to ensure that the cheese has not been contaminated by additives or processing.

bluecheese

After that, you can go ahead and enjoy that delicious slice of fragrant blue cheese!

Advertisements

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. Results are in From the Great Gluten-Free Beer Experiment! | Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: