Going Gluten-Free at Cha Baa Thai

Visited On: January 4, 2014
Gluten Free Menu: All options on regular menu can be made gluten-free
Server Knowledge:
Server Attitude:
Variety of Gluten-Free Options: 1/2
Overall Gluten-Friendly Rating:
Price Range: $10-$15 per person, plus drinks, tax, and tip

I’ll be the first to admit that I am not the most adventurous of eaters. (For evidence of this, count the number of reviews where I order steak frites.) However, I am trying to broaden my horizons, so when friends suggested Cha Baa Thai in Bedford for supper last weekend, I was excited to give it a try. Our friends had called in advance to check out the gluten-free options, and were told that anything on the menu (excluding desserts) can be made gluten-free on request. (The same menu is also available at their Halifax and Burnside locations.)

We arrived at the restaurant at about 6:30 on a Saturday night and were seated right away. We ordered a bottle of wine to share ($35) and I double-checked gluten-free options with the waitress. Although there was a bit of a language barrier (preventing me from asking detailed questions about preparation and cooking methods) she confirmed that all menu items can be made gluten-free. (From the descriptions on the menu, it sounds like almost everything is naturally gluten-free anyways, and that only minor modifications would be needed for some dishes.) With this in mind, we ordered six gluten-free dishes to share: sweet and sour chicken ($11.95), stir fried masaman curry beef ($11.95), spicy seafood curry ($15.00), prawn Pad Thai ($12.75), ginger pork ($11.95), and steamed jasmine rice ($6.00).

Our dishes didn’t take long to arrive, and we all quickly dug in. I have to say that sharing a meal with others is one thing that I now appreciate more than ever. Having Celiac disease can be very isolating, particularly in social situations involving food. It was very nice to be able to share a number of dishes and enjoy them as a group. I tried everything that we ordered, and it was all perfectly cooked and wonderfully seasoned. My favourites were the sweet and sour chicken, the masaman beef, and the ginger pork (pretty safe options for someone new to Thai food). The curry was presented in a foil package, which was pretty interesting to dig into. The Pad Thai received rave reviews from everyone at the table, too. There was plenty to go around for the four of us, and we each took home enough food for an additional meal. Unfortunately, we were far too full for dessert, but that just gives us a reason to go back!

Cha Baa Thai
1511 Bedford Highway (Bedford)
902- 446-8899
Web Site: http://www.chabaathairestaurant.ca

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Terry on January 7, 2014 - 6:07 pm

    So glad you tried this resto out….we’ve been wanting to take our daughter there and were waiting on some reviews. We go to Fan’s for GF Chinese and are quite pleased with their menu options for Celiacs and have had no issues eating there. Can’t wait to try some Thai food with our daughter soon.

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on January 7, 2014 - 6:09 pm

      I’m glad we tried it too! Hopefully you enjoy it as much as we did 🙂

  2. #3 by Kirsten on January 9, 2014 - 8:07 am

    ChaBaa has been a staple for me for years now! Thankfully all of my co-workers love it too, so I can always eat without worry when we go for group lunches 🙂

    • #4 by glutenfree4hfx on January 9, 2014 - 8:41 am

      That is great! It’s so nice to be able to share a meal with others 🙂

  3. #5 by Jillian on May 1, 2014 - 4:32 pm

    I work in Burnside and enjoy frequenting the ChaBaa Thai on this end of the city. But I must warn that when I go for lunch on a Friday, or anytime it’s busy probably 4 times out of 5 my dish has been cross contaminated or has gluten in it.

    • #6 by glutenfree4hfx on May 4, 2014 - 11:35 am

      I am really sorry to hear that. Have you spoken to the staff or manager about your experience?

      • #7 by Jillian on May 7, 2014 - 1:11 pm

        Not exactly. I did speak to the manager once when I didn’t think my waiter understood that I ordered gluten free. I asked her to insure my order was gluten free. When it arrived it wasn’t, there was a fried spring roll on my plate. I was in the restaurant today actually for lunch, same thing. So when ordering lunch even though you order ‘gluten free’ make sure you specify that you want a fresh spring roll.

      • #8 by glutenfree4hfx on May 7, 2014 - 2:08 pm

        That’s good to know, thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

