Eating Well With Pinty’s!

So this happened last night:

Pinty's GF chicken breast chunks

What you’re looking at is five gluten-free, breaded chicken breast chunks (and a side of plum sauce, included with the meat) from Pinty’s new EatWell line! This line of products (all gluten-free) includes:

  • Breaded chicken breast fillets, tenders, chunks, and nuggets
  • Whole and sliced grilled chicken breasts (available in apple butter, lemon parmesan pesto, and Mediterranean flavours)
  • Rotisserie-style chicken breast strips
  • Pizza with grilled chicken

I was really excited to try this new product, but extremely worried that I would be disappointed. It’s very rare for a frozen product to end up looking (and tasting) like the product on the box, but I have to say that these are fabulous. After 30 minutes in the oven, they came out soft on the inside and crispy on the outside, with a light herb seasoning.

In terms of nutrition, the chicken breast chunks weren’t as bad as I expected them to be. Five pieces rings in at 210 calories and 6 grams of fat. You could easily pair these with a salad and come in well under an adult’s recommended calorie count for supper. The ingredients are mostly corn and rice-based, with no preservatives.

Price-wise, they are comparable to similar, gluten-containing convenience products. We paid $13.99 for an 810 gram box. (Compare this to around $7 for a 220 gram box of Ian’s chicken nuggets.) You should be able to find most products at major grocery stores as well as Wal-Mart.

All of the EatWell products are labeled gluten-free but not certified, which means that Pinty’s have tested the product to ensure that there is less than 20 parts per million of gluten, but their processes and testing have not been audited by an outside agency. There are no warnings on the box about the product being made in a facility that also uses wheat products either.

This week, we’re going to make KFC-style popcorn chicken bowls with the chicken breast chunks, as well as tortillas with the lemon parmesan pesto strips! If you have a chance to try these products, let us know what you think.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dave on January 26, 2014 - 1:30 pm

    FANTASTIC. Looks delicious!! I once tried some gluten free frozen BBQ wings I bought at Sobeys, and they were grey and gross. This looks much, much better 🙂 definitely going to give this a shot. Thanks as usual for the heads-up!!

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on January 26, 2014 - 1:42 pm

      It’s definitely the best gluten-free frozen chicken product we’ve tried so far – hope you enjoy them as much as we did 🙂

      • #3 by Dave on January 27, 2014 - 6:08 pm

        okay, I picked up a box of the chicken breast chunks at my local Liverpool Sobeys, and gave it a try. Here’s my review/impressions:

        1. First off, I think the 30-minute cook time is a bit high. I think 20-25 minutes might work better. The breaded crust came out a bit tough and burnt at 30 minutes, particularly the smaller chunks.

        2. I found it salty–excessively so, and probably unnecessarily so. The box lists 5 chunks has having 36% RDA sodium (I think the raw number is something like 850mg), which is a fair bit. I’ll never understand why food companies don’t cut down the sodium in their foods, and let people salt their own food if need be! It’s not like it’d be inedible with 15% sodium, I don’t think 🙂

        3. As for taste, other than the excessive salt in the seasoning, I found it pretty good. Light years better than the BBQ wings I tried awhile ago from a different company. I’d definitely re-buy these, if they weren’t quite so high in sodium. And for those who don’t care about the sodium…these are definitely “winners” as far as taste goes!

      • #4 by glutenfree4hfx on January 27, 2014 - 6:37 pm

        Thanks for the comments Dave! I am glad to see that these products are readily available in most Sobeys stores. I agree with the sodium – it’s an unfortunate part of a lot of processed foods and I think we notice it more because we haven’t had this kind of stuff for so long!

  2. #5 by Chrissy on January 27, 2014 - 9:41 am

    I’ve had the Apple Butter Chicken and it was also delicious! I would highly recommend it

  3. #7 by Beth on January 31, 2014 - 7:25 am

    M & M Meats now has GF breaded chicken tenders, chicken breasts and breaded pork bites. I have tried the chicken tenders and they are really, really good. As with most processed foods, they are very high in sodium though, be prepared to drink lots of water after eating them!

    • #8 by glutenfree4hfx on January 31, 2014 - 8:31 am

      Thanks for the heads up! We’ll have to check it out 🙂

  4. #9 by Beth on January 31, 2014 - 4:57 pm

    Another thing I just discovered today is Greco now has GF pizza and garlic fingers, including GF donair pizza! I can’t wait to try it!

    • #10 by glutenfree4hfx on January 31, 2014 - 4:59 pm

      I heard that the other day too, but I also heard that they don’t have separate prep areas so the GF dough comes into contact with flour. 😦 If you have a chance to check it out let us know how it goes!

  5. #11 by JGreen on February 8, 2014 - 12:48 pm

    I tried out the chicken breast fillets this week and loved them! Loved the sauce as well. So yummy. 🙂
    My family was having regular gluten nuggets but mine looked and tasted so much better they all want these next time.
    I wouldn’t have even noticed them at Sobeys if it wasn’t for this post so many thanks!

    • #12 by glutenfree4hfx on February 8, 2014 - 1:41 pm

      Glad that you liked them! They are really indistinguishable from the regular products which makes them awesome for families. M&M meats just came out with a similar line of stuff so we plan on trying that next!

  6. #13 by Wendy Thompson-Cochrane on February 22, 2014 - 10:03 am

    I bought a duo box of gluten free pizza and gluten free honey garlic chicken. I just wanted to let you know it was the best pizza and chicken I have had since I have been gluten free. I purchased it at Walmart in Pembroke Ontario Ca in Jamuary 2014 and I was wondering if it was going to be sold there again as I haven’t seen it again. I am hope you plan on making these products again. Thank you Wendy Thompson-Cochrane

    • #14 by glutenfree4hfx on February 22, 2014 - 10:12 am

      Thanks for sharing Wendy! Last week I saw the party pack here at Sobeys in Nova Scotia and wondered how it was. We’ll have to try it for sure now. 🙂

  7. #15 by JennH on April 25, 2014 - 7:32 pm

    We love these too – only tried the chicken chunk and pizza combo box, since that’s all our store carries. But I didn’t realize they were made in a facility that has wheat 😦 Since my daughter is celiac, we won’t be able to buy these anymore unless Pintys commits to a wheat free facility. Too bad, because they’re yummy – and I actually thought they were less salty than most of the commerical stuff.

    • #16 by glutenfree4hfx on April 27, 2014 - 10:23 am

      We went looking for the pizza/chicken combo the other day and couldn’t find it anywhere… we will have to keep looking. However, I didn’t know that about the facility, that’s unfortunate! I do know that in order for the box to have the gluten-free label, Pinty’s must follow strict manufacturing standards and test their product to ensure that the gluten content is below 20 ppm. Health Canada has implemented these standards over the past few years to make sure that foods labeled gluten-free are in fact Celiac safe. 🙂

  8. #17 by cannon_fodder on July 3, 2014 - 9:36 am

    I found your site through a google search (heard about the product during TSN’s Wimbledon coverage). Here is a Pinty’s coupon link: http://pintyseatwell.com/coupon

  1. KFC Popcorn Chicken Bowls – Gluten Free Style! | Gluten For Punishment

Leave a Reply

