Filling Your Gluten-Free Easter Basket

Holidays can be a tricky time for Celiacs and anyone with food allergies or intolerances. Holiday treats are often manufactured in bulk, meaning that your favourite chocolate treat is no longer gluten-free. Or, well-meaning friends and family might fill an Easter basket for you and unwittingly include gluten-containing treats.

Here are some of our favourite gluten-free Easter treats. (Remember, always check the label!)

The Canadian Celiac Association also recently shared this gluten-free candy list from My Gluten Facts. It is a few years out of date but it might give you a good starting point for your Easter shopping.

Here are some items to specifically be aware of:

  • Most Lindt chocolates contain barley.
  • Licorice usually contains wheat flour as its main ingredient.
  • Watch for “May contain wheat” on store brands.

Happy Easter!

 

Advertisements

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: