Taste Testing O’Doughs Bagel Thins!

The Product

Bagels are one of the few things that I really miss. Over the past five years, I’ve tried almost every brand on the market. Udi’s bagels are OK, but the nutritional information is horrific: add peanut butter to your morning bagel and you’re basically consuming a Big Mac. Other brands taste like wet cardboard, or just bread in a weird shape.

Luckily, over a year ago I heard about O’Doughs Bagel Thins. I did see them at Jane’s Gluten Free in Moncton this spring, but I didn’t pick any up and have been kicking myself ever since. Luckily, we spotted them at Pete’s Frootique in Halifax last weekend thanks to a sampling event!

 

The Test

At Pete’s Frootique, we got to try the sprouted whole grain flax and apple cranberry flavours, toasted and with ghee on top. I also purchased a six-pack of the sprouted whole grain flax bagel thins for $6.99. Here’s what my breakfast looked like the next day:

The Verdict

Michael was with me when we tried the samples at Pete’s Frootique. His first response was, “Wow, these taste like real bagels!” I couldn’t agree more! This is the product that I’ve been looking for. They are light, toast well, and have tons of flavour. As a bonus, each bagel has only 100 calories and 1.5 grams of fat. For some people, that might be too small a serving, but I find that these bagels are the perfect start to my day.

There are some other great things about O’Doughs. For one, they are a Canadian company. As well, their products are gluten-free, non-GMO, egg free, and kosher, making them suitable for a wide variety of diets.

I’m sad to say that I’ve already consumed almost the entire package of bagel thins that I bought last weekend, but I’m glad that I can now get more right here in Halifax!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dave on September 10, 2014 - 9:59 pm

    And this is why I follow this blog 🙂 AWESOME!! Heading in to Halifax in five days to pick wife up from the airport, will make a bagel thins stop. I wonder if they’ll carry these in normal grocery stores at some point?

    Also, did you happen to notice if they had any plain flavour bagel thins?

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on September 10, 2014 - 10:02 pm

      Hehe thanks 🙂 Pete’s in Halifax had all three flavours, I’m heading to Bedford tomorrow and can let you know if they have them as well. I am hoping to see them in grocery stores eventually as some stores do carry other O’Doughs products. Will keep an eye out and update the post if I see them!

  2. #3 by Dave on September 10, 2014 - 11:26 pm

    Excellent, thanks 🙂 I’m not a real fan of the Glutino bagels (which I’ve been eating instead of the Udis for precisely the reason you pointed out).

    Can’t wait to try these as pizza bagels 🙂 (if you haven’t done the pizza bagel thing yet, you haven’t lived! lol).

    • #4 by glutenfree4hfx on September 11, 2014 - 8:31 am

      Yeah I find the Glutino ones kind of gluey. Ooh will have to try the pizza thing!

      • #5 by Dave on September 11, 2014 - 2:35 pm

        Yeah the pizza bagels are fantastic. Get two bagel halves, brush some sauce on them, sprinkle some shredded cheese, pop in the toaster oven and bake (not toast) for 4 minutes (I put mine at around 425 degrees), presto–instant delicious snack!

  3. #6 by Kirsten on September 11, 2014 - 8:33 am

    I’ve seen them at one of the HRM Sobey’s (Dartmouth side for sure). Can’t remember which one. Might be in more of them, in the freezer section of the natural source. I don’t miss bagels often, but noticed them after enjoying a bag while home in Ontario earlier this summer!

  4. #8 by Graca on September 11, 2014 - 11:13 pm

    Thanks for this product review… I followed the link you posted to their website and there is a list of Winnipeg businesses that carry their products also. I’m going to look for this on my next grocery run.

    • #9 by glutenfree4hfx on September 12, 2014 - 7:32 am

      You’re welcome! They should be easier to find out West than here – good luck. 🙂

Leave a comment