When I purchase Hallowe’en candy, I try to buy something that Mike and I both like, in case there are leftovers. It’s a little bit more difficult since going gluten free, but My Gluten Facts and the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness have made it a bit easier! You can find a Canadian list of gluten-free Hallowe’en candy here and an American list here.
Although these lists are quite handy, remember to always read the ingredients! And, don’t forget that Old Dutch and Lay’s potato chips are certified gluten-free too.
Have a happy and safe Hallowe’en!
The big day is almost here! On February 16, 2011, Health Canada published amendments to food labeling regulations that would take effect on August 4, 2012, giving manufacturers 18 months advance notice. That means as of this weekend, prepackaged foods must list allergens (including gluten) in a straightforward manner.
There are two approved methods for listing allergens:
It’s summertime and it seems like food is everywhere… including hot dogs, hamburgers, beer, and many other things that us gluten-intolerant folk can’t have. However, I love Chex’s motto: Live in the yes!
Here are seven amazing things you can do this summer that are totally gluten-free.
There is a great article in the Chronicle Herald today re-emphasizing why gluten-free isn’t just a fad. Read it here: Expert warns against making gluten-free diet into food fad | The Chronicle Herald.
Last year, we reported that Fudgsicles are not gluten-free, but that has changed! In the past, every Fudgsicle I had ever looked at (including those from the Popsicle company) had malt extract, which is made from barley.
However, Chapman’s Ice Cream has once again come to our rescue. They just released gluten-free Fudgsicles!
This week, I heard some disturbing rumors that Danone’s Activia yogurt contains gluten. Yogurt has been described as a superfood for Celiacs; why would it have gluten?
Here’s the deal right from Danone: Read more…