Taste Testing Pillsbury Pizza Dough!

The Product

Before you get excited, I’ll confirm that Pillsbury gluten-free pizza dough is not yet available in Canada. However, hopefully their recent Canadian launch of other gluten-free products has done well enough that they’ll consider bringing it here.

I picked up a 360-gram tub of Pillsbury gluten-free pizza dough at Whole Foods Market while in the U.S. recently for $3.99.

 

The Test

We had friends over unexpectedly on the weekend, so I decided this was a good time to try out the new dough. I prepared and baked it pretty much as instructed: cut the dough ball in half, flattened each piece into a pizza shape, par-baked it for 11 minutes, added toppings, and baked for about 5 more minutes. The only thing different was that I didn’t flip it between the two baking steps since I had put it in the pan incorrectly the first time (with the crust part up instead of down).

We made a classic margherita-style pizza with fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, and Italian seasoning, as well as a caramelized onion and bacon pizza.

 

The Verdict

I’d read some pretty bad reviews of this dough so it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting. Some parts of the crust were thin and crispy, and overall tasted good. Other parts were doughy, dense, wet, and almost raw.

Next time, I would roll the dough out thinner and bake both of the pizzas on the bottom rack. (I had gluten-free garlic bread in the oven, too, so perhaps I should have increased the cooking time.)

If this product ever comes to Canada, I can’t say it will be a staple, but I would definitely like to do more experimenting with it. It’s always nice to have some convenient gluten-free options, especially for treats like pizza night!

 

P.S.: If you’re interested in how the Pillsbury Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough is, check out our review here.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dave on October 28, 2014 - 6:23 pm

    Thanks for posting this review….believe it or not, I’m sitting in my old apartment in my hometown of NYC as I read this, so I may just pop out to Whole Foods and grab a tub and give it a whirl when I get back! lol

    • #2 by glutenfree4hfx on October 28, 2014 - 6:33 pm

      Haha that’s cool! If you get a chance to try it I’d be curious to see what you think.

Leave a comment